Universität Siegen

Primary tabs

Universität Siegen is a public research university located in Siegen, North Rhine-Westphalia. The University was founded in 1972. More than 18 thousand students were enrolled at the university as of the year 2017. The University offers more than one hundred degree programmes across four faculties, with their affiliated departments: Faculty I: Faculty of Arts and Humanities (germanic studies, history, media studies, philosophy, romance studies,  English, protestant theology, catholic theology, social sciences); Faculty II: Education · Architecture · Arts (education and psychology, architecture, art and music); Faculty III: School of Economic Disciplines; Faculty IV: Science and Technology (civil engineering, chemistry and biology, electrical engineering and computer science, mechanical engineering, mathematics, physics). The University is part of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, a society of Germany's leading research universities. Its notable alumni include Axel Weber (born 1957), Chairman of UBS and former president of Deutsche Bundesbank.