Doctoral seminar: Current frontiers of global academic research

Primary tabs

Five fortnightly sessions from 28 October to 23 December 2020

Course leader: 
Live dates: 
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 to Wednesday, 23 December 2020
Live meetings: 
Five fortnightly meetings on Wednesdays at 13.00 Sao Paulo, 16.00 London, 17.00 Brussels, 18.00 Bucharest

Please login or register to take this course.
Aims and scope: 

This seminar brings together current doctoral students and experienced researchers to discuss current frontiers of gobal scholarly research. This seminar is jointly organised by a team of EUROSCI Network members and sponsored by selected EUROSCI Network partners. There is an absolute limit of 8 places for doctoral students in this seminar, and the geographical and scientific diversity of students will be actively promoted in order to ensure that all regions, cultures and scientific fields across the Network are fairly represented, and a North-South balance is achieved.

The aims of this seminar are to introduce early doctoral students to potential research questions, disseminate the research questions of advanced doctoral students, and link doctoral students and advanced researchers to facilitate collaboration across the EUROSCI Network.

Methodology: 
This seminar consists of five fortnightly two-hour sessions. Each session is led by an experienced doctoral supervisor and contains presentations and discussions by participating doctoral students.
Topics: 
1. Choosing your research question: supply and demand considerations (DV). 2. Doing research in the social sciences (GB). 3. International collaboration opportunities, co-supervision, Erasmus+ mobility grants (CN). 4. Research design: experiences in security studies (CK). 5. Researching communication and communicating research (FJ).
Indicative reading: 
Dunleavy, P. (2003). Authoring a PhD: How to plan, draft, write and finish a doctoral thesis or dissertation. Macmillan International Higher Education.
Peer rating: 
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Total votes: 0
Peer vote